Delegate Cline and Decoding Dyslexia Celebrate Enactment of HB 842

Rockbridge, VA – Delegate Ben Cline (R-24) announced today that his bill to require every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license to complete awareness training on the indicators of dyslexia was signed by Governor Terry McAuliffe and will become effective on July 1, 2017.

“I am pleased that the Governor has signed this important bill into law to help parents and teachers identify the early signs of dyslexia in children,” said Cline. “I want to thank the many parents and advocates of children with dyslexia, including Decoding Dyslexia Virginia, for their help with getting this legislation passed and signed into law.”

“The families of Decoding Dyslexia Virginia (DDVA), who formed a community 3 years ago to make a positive impact for students with dyslexia, are excited to see policy that has the potential to positively change the course of education in Virginia,” said Rebecca Worth of Decoding Dyslexia. “DDVA would like to thank the Governor’s office, Delegate Ben Cline, members of the Virginia General Assembly, the VA PTA, and parents who came together to discuss effective methods to teach literacy to students with language based learning differences and how effective teacher training in Virginia can make a huge impact on the future of dyslexic students.”

House Bill 842 requires the Board of Education regulations governing teacher licensure to require every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license to complete awareness training, provided by the Department of Education, on the indicators of dyslexia and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for dyslexia.

Cline represents the 24th House District, including the Cities of Lexington and Buena Vista, Bath County, Rockbridge County, and parts of Amherst and Augusta Counties. He was elected in 2002, and re-elected to his eighth term in November 2015. Cline is a member of the House Commerce and Labor Committee, the Militia, Police, and Public Safety Committee, the Finance Committee, and the Courts of Justice Committee. He chairs the Subcommittee on Mental Health.