Cline Introduces Transparency Legislation to Require Recorded Vote of All Bills

Rockbridge, VA – Delegate Ben Cline (R-Rockbridge) announced today the introduction of legislation in the House of Delegates designed to increase transparency in the General Assembly. House Bill 1677 requires that all legislation introduced by a member of the House of Delegates or the Senate be considered by the committee or subcommittee of purview and receive a recorded vote.

“Since arriving in the House of Delegates in 2002, I have been committed to reforming state government, and I have pushed to adopt policies to ensure that government is operating with greater transparency, more efficiency, and better results,” said Cline. “I hope the bill I have introduced this year will make further progress on these important issues.”

In addition to this year’s bill, Delegate Cline has introduced and had enacted the following major transparency bills during his tenure in the House of Delegates:

  • 48-Hour Budget Transparency (HB 2076 – 2015) – Provides that no legislative action shall be taken on the conference committee report on the biennial budget or the general appropriation act until the conference committee report has been posted on the General Assembly’s website for at least 48 hours. Adopted as a Rule by the Speaker of the House.
  • Searchable online database of state budget expenditures and revenues (HB 2285 – 2009) – Requires the Office of the Auditor of Public Accounts to include on its existing searchable database information regarding state audits or reports relating to public entities, capital outlay payments, and annual bonded indebtedness. Passed the General Assembly and signed into law on April 8, 2009.

Cline represents the 24th House District, including the Cities of Lexington and Buena Vista, Bath County, Rockbridge County, and parts of Amherst and Augusta Counties. He was elected in 2002, and re-elected to his eighth term in November 2015. Cline is a member of the House Commerce and Labor Committee, the Militia, Police, and Public Safety Committee, the Finance Committee, and the Courts of Justice Committee. He is House Co-Chairman of the Conservative Caucus.