Cline and Cox Introduce Bill to Make College More Affordable

Richmond, VADelegate Ben Cline (R-Rockbridge) announced today that he and Majority Leader Kirk Cox have introduced legislation (HB 2262) to build on legislation enacted by Delegate Cline in 2015 to make college more affordable through the use of online courses.

“I am pleased that my bill to help make college more affordable for Virginia families was signed into law in 2015, and I believe this year’s bill will build on that success,” said Cline.  “The rising costs of higher education continues to be a challenge to working individuals and families across the Commonwealth.  This important initiative will hopefully provide families with more options to pursue a college degree.” 

“I appreciate the work of Delegate Cline on this important issue,” said Majority Leader Kirk Cox.  “Making college more accessible and more affordable for working families has been a priority of mine for many years, and I am pleased to work with Delegate Cline on the promising new issue area of online education.” 

HB 2320, enacted in 2015, establishes a degree program whereby an undergraduate student in Virginia may complete, through the use of online, community college, or public or private college or university courses, the course credit requirements to receive a bachelor’s degree at a tuition cost of around $16,000.

HB 2262 (2017) establishes the Online Virginia Network Authority as an educational institution in the Commonwealth to act as the coordinating and administering entity for the delivery of each online course, degree program, and credential program offered by a public institution of higher education or a consortium of public institutions of higher education in the Commonwealth.

 Cline represents the 24th House District, including the Cities of Lexington and Buena Vista, Bath County, Rockbridge County, and parts of Amherst and Augusta Counties. He was elected in 2002, and re-elected to his eighth term in November 2015. Cline is a member of the House Commerce and Labor Committee, the Militia, Police, and Public Safety Committee, the Finance Committee, and the Courts of Justice Committee.